I went shopping.

I recently experienced two especially distressing clothes tragedies. Firstly, my suitcase was stolen whilst I was on a weekend away in Paris. I say stolen, the truth is I couldn’t be bothered to drag a 26kg suitcase up five flights of uneven, precarious looking steps that only the French know how to achieve to my friend’s loft appartment, so instead I decided to leave it in the little courtyard at the back of the building. I took out my valuables (I’m not that stupid), but thought a suitcase of clothes would be perfectly safe within a secured building in a respectable part of Paris. Wrong. Goodbye favourite half of wardrobe.

Secondly, I loaned a friend my beautiful emerald green maxi skirt that I had practically lived in last summer but had yet to make its debut this year. Unfortunately said friend’s inexperience in the realm of chiffon led her to push an iron over it. It died in the prime of life, and will remain eternally beautiful. The Princess Di of the skirt world.

So anyway, both of these events (as well as the long-awaited appearance of my student loan) made me decide that I deserved to treat myself to a shopping trip. And so behold a shopping trip was created, and I looked at my shopping and I saw that it was good. The main beauty of it came with the discovery of H&M’s new Conscious Collection. All the pieces in this line of clothing are made in a completely environmentally and socially sustainable way, and not only that but they are simply beautiful! An incredible combination of this Spring’s pastel colours, lace and crochet textures and tropical prints, all completely guilt-free. You can imagine my excitement when I came across these adorable floral-print shorts, made entirely from recycled polyester.

Here’s a few of my fave pieces from the collection…

100% recycled polyester cropped top £9.99

Embroidered organic cotton dress £49.99

100% organic cotton crocheted shorts £19.99

Leave a Reply

